Moments of Grace: A Glance at 2009

28 Dec

Moments of Grace: A Glance at 2009

The 2009 began with a gift of a three week deadline extension on a critical project against all odds. A money making deal fell apart but came through a win in an essay contest and a short project.  Dealt with messed up bones, finished “the critical project” and walked the walk when all odds were against this graduation. Realized I have a vision that can distinguish various shades and shapes; had forgotten to enjoy the view of roses on my way to work and my nose can trace all aromas.

A thing of beauty

Traveled four states in bus, train and a plane; rode a police patrol car without handcuffs for two and half hours to camp on the mountain top. Who knew someone could do this. Tented on a gradient, kept rolling down all night every night and finally the tent flooded. The dream spot I coveted for last four years was not as comfortable as I thought. It is okay I survived it. Liked a kid and took him for a son, a child I would wish to have in some other life time. I adopted this easy path because I didn’t want to change the diapers and his teenage tantrums are taken care off. All my bases are covered.

Long road ahead

Long road ahead

Every minute was fun and a blessing. On the return went to county fair with my best foody, Stan is the man, we enjoyed the doughnuts. Every one needs a friend they can splurge with.

Doughnuts Galore

In July started looking for work, came through another three week stint as a guest interpreter at a museum. Had an opportunity to live in an all expense paid hotel room with a view in one of the finest cities in the world. Did this job with great passion, learned a lot, it added to my understanding of designing large scale exhibits, also met some very wonderful and supportive people. Twice went for Grunion run, grunions were no show but saw one grunion digging sand with her snoot to reach water. Learned I will never give upon life for life is too precious.

On return started exploring the not so encouraging job market. Gained few interviews and two very dear friends who stood by when I most dearly needed support. Rinky called for the first time in last eighteen months (it is my job to keep the communication channels open). Atiya bugged me into writing this blog and Amu encouraged me to visit her for my first white Christmas. Packed my suitcases and moved for good to uncharted waters of the north. Five years ago I came to this vibrant town with two suitcases and lots of hopes. The hopes flickered like the scented candles in my bath and the suitcases multiplied geometrically. Now when I was ready to move it was time to choose what to keep and what to leave. Chose some sentimental stuff (just hundred pounds in weight) and once again left with two suitcases to this sleepy town to live in a wooden cabin. Saw my first snow and counted my blessings. It is never a dull moment. I love it this way. I do not fit in any way in the categories of success as proposed by our desi communities but I do not consider my self poor or a failure. My presence does make some people uncomfortable because they fail to define me but does it matter. Who cares I do not want to live my life in their boxes.

Friends taking inventory of 2009

I stand here with Amu taking an inventory of my gains and losses in 2009:

No. Gains Losses
1. Healthy mind, body and soul  
2. Healthy and supportive family  
3. Healthy and supportive friends Physical distance from dear friends
4. Strength to give up unused stuff bought with passion  
5. Got rid of emotionally draining acquaintances  
6. Learned new meditations  
7. Gained ten pounds Messed up routine
8. Opportunity to start afresh  
     
Net UNLIMITED NONE

Even when I was alone I never felt alone, the lord almighty watched over me and sent his/her angles in the form of these dear friends to keep me company and encourage me. I read some where ‘friends are a God’s way of apologizing for relatives.” If I met five people with an attitude so did I meet fifty with kindness and a smile, it was all worth it.  My folks have made their peace with the fact that I am happy, healthy and safe to them that is all it matters here on. Over all 2009 is a blessing. In a 5.3´ hundred forty pound frame minor wear and tear is normal- two surgeries and three rehabs are not much; they are just minor maintenance procedural issues. Every minute is a joy, a celebration of being alive in the company of people who love me. As I celebrate the magnanimity of the creator in bestowing me with gifts of life, friendships and family I wish all my readers will find it worth celebrating. I’ll be back soon I am heading to snowy woods to look for more blessings…

Leave a comment

A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

The closet with all my skeletons.

writing about things as if I'll say everything at a ted talk

From the wet market

Mostly vegetarian meals from Asia

**आधुनिक युग आयुर्वेद ** ई०टी०जी० आयुर्वेदास्कैन ** DIGITAL AYURVEDA TRIDOSHO SCANNER**AYURVED H. T. L. WHOLE-BODY SCANNER**आयुषव्यूज रक्त केमिकल केमेस्ट्री परीक्षण अनालाइजर ** डिजिटल हैनीमेनियन होम्योपैथी स्कैनर **

AYUSH means A.Y.U.S.H. य़ानी Ayurveda + Yoga & Nature Cure + Unani +Sidhdha + Homoeopathy ; आयुष पान्च चिकित्सा विधियो को मिलाकर एक टर्म बना दिया गया है , जिसका मतलब [१] A word से आयुर्वेद [२] Y word से योग और प्राकृतिक चिकित्सा [३] U word से यूनानी चिकित्सा [४] S word से सिध्ध चिकित्सा [५] H word से होम्योपैथी चिकित्सा ; आयुर्वेद के अलावा भारत में आविष्कार की गयी और भारत सरकार द्वारा परीक्षित की जा चुकी मान्यता प्राप्त विश्व की पहली और अकेली आयुर्वेद की शत-प्रतिशत पूर्णतया स्वदेशी तकनीक "इलेक्ट्रो त्रिदोष ग्राफी : ई०टी०जी० आयुर्वेदास्कैन " , जिसका आविष्कार जून, १९८६ में कानपुर शहर, उत्तर प्रदेश, भारत के आयुष चिकित्सा वैग्यानिक डा० देश बन्धु बाजपेयी - मोबाइल: 09336238994 - e.mail : drdbbajpai@gmail.com द्वारा किया गया और जिसका लगातार विकास कार्य जारी है / E.T.G.A.S. तकनीक द्वारा (1) आयुर्वेद के मौलिक सिध्धान्तों का स्टेटस क्वान्टीफाई करने और इसी तकनीक द्वारा (2) शरीर के सभी अन्गों और प्रत्यन्गॊ में व्याप्त समस्त रोगों के निदान ग्यान की वैग्यानिक aproach की जानकारी कराने और सबसे नवीन दूसरी आविष्कार की गयी निदान और रोग ग्यान तक्नीक आयुर्वेदा थर्मों ग्राफी ; आयुर्वेदा ऊष्मा-स्कैन ; आयुर्वेदा थेर्मल मैपिन्ग एवम स्कैनिन्ग के अलावा आयुर्वेद की अन्य की गयी खोजों में तीसरी खोज ”आयुर्वेद हीमो-मीटर मशीन” द्वारा रोगी के रक्त का परीक्षण करके आयुर्वेद के सिध्ध्न्तों का मूल्यान्कन तथा चौथी खोज रोगी के पेशाब / मूत्र का ”आयुर्वेद यूरीनो-मीटर” द्वारा परीक्षण करके आयुर्वेद के सिध्धान्तो की उपस्तिथि के अलावा मूत्र के अन्दर पाये जाने वाले पदार्थों का विष्लेषण करके रोग निदान की विधियों की खोज रिसर्च सेन्टर द्वारा कर ली गयी है और रोगियों के लिये उपलब्ध करा दी गयी है ...आयुष AYUSH चिकित्सा विधियों के बारे में विश्वसनीय और सटीक और अचूक और सही जानकारी और शोध पूर्ण और शोध युक्त ग्यान बोध कराने वाला द्विभाषीय चिठ्ठा ...................................Ayurveda and AYUSH Therapies including Chines Accupunctur, Magnet Therapy,Physiotherapy etc and with this in June, 1986, invented by KANPUR, Uttar Pradesh State, INDIA based AYUSH Medical Scientist Dr. Desh Bandhu Bajpai - Mobile : 09336238994 - e.mail: drdbbajpai@gmail.com , completely indeginous AYURVEDA SCANNING Technology - "Electro Tridosha Graphy ; E.T.G.AyurvedaScan " system, EXAMINED & APPROVED BY GOVERNMENT OF INDIA , by which (a) status of Ayurvedic Fundamentals are quantified and (b) examinaton of whole body for diagnosis of presence of anomalies and ailments , Second scanning system of Ayurveda Discovered and Invented by Dr. D.B.Bajpai ; Ayurveda Thermal Mapping and Scanning , Other research in Ayurveda is Third one which analysis Blood by AYURVEDA HEAMO-METER devise and Fourth one is AYURVEDA URINO-METER for analysing the contents of urine and status quantification of Ayurveda Principles and is avalable for patient in our research center...... provides information about Research and Developments technology provider , authenticated subject material publisher, Bilingual Hindi and English informer Blog

LOKSANGHARSHA

जनसंघर्ष को समर्पित

Talking to the Wall

Posting about this and that :)

Surviving Traumatic Brain Injury

TBI - Survivors, Caregivers, Family, and Friends

"कुरुक्षेत्र"

मेरे विचारो का

समाजवादी जनपरिषद

वैश्वीकरण विरोध हेतु

Corporate Coaching: Build Your International Career

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

W.S.S.A @ UWindsor

Women's Studies Student Association @ University of Windsor, Ontario

Shafiq Ur Rahman Khan

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

Beyond The Second Sex (स्त्रीविमर्श)

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

नारी , NAARI

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

Sparsh

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.