The first time I sang in public

25 Jun

The first time I sang in public

06/25/2016

I remember waking up every morning to the sound of my very musical mother singing hymns and not at all musical dad’s reciting prayers pretty tunefully while at other times the All India Radio or a tape recorder hummed at home. Mother was then a music teacher, she sang beautifully and dad was equally inartistic in every manner, rustic and bookish. I liked music but I guess I was born tune deaf though I heard people say I had a good voice. It was a torture to sing for the compulsory music class, all through middle school I worked on the music teacher by becoming her pet to let me sing to her in the private. At home students came to learn devotional singing from mother, she was pretty embarrassed by me though she’ll not admit. I tried to sing a few times at the church it was out rightly bad.

Years went by I would listen to music but would never dare utter a word, rarely did I sang in the bathroom. Parents never liked my addiction to listening to music they thought time could be better spent studying. I remember it was the final year at the college we were competing in the inter college youth festival. I had won almost all debates and public speaking contests. Last day was cultural evening students could sign up for solo song and solo dance competitions. I have no clue what came upon me and I signed up for singing a song that I had heard only once in my life and had never practiced. May be it was the confidence of winning every other contest or what I have no recollection.

On my turn I instructed the band to play the number and I’ll pick it up from there, as if I had been singing all my life. The opening notes were perfect, I used all my might along with my breath by the time it was time to sing the stanza I was not only out of breath but tune, notes and everything musical in between. The dud was obvious but I was no quitter. The louder the audience booed the shriller I became. Guys were restless ready to throw chairs at me as they had nothing else to throw. I was calculating if a chair came at me how far I could jump and beat crap out of him. In all that cacophony far in the back I saw a guy dancing to the beat and moving towards the stage. He was the son of our family friends who knew me well and I guess had read my mind. His dance distracted the audience and few others followed him dancing to the stage as I completed the song. I think may be I am an accidental “no quitter” because the fact is I do not know when and how to quit but quit I did my public singing thereafter.

 

This is an old piece from a creative non fiction writing class. Till date DG has no clue what she was thinking when she sang in the public. If anyone has any idea please pitch in. Hope 2016 is treating you all well. Still here, will be back soon to kick some rubble.

11 Responses to “The first time I sang in public”

  1. Anju Gandhi July 14, 2016 at p07 #

    Loved your post dear.I m reminded of my school days when I low wanted to join a signing troupe. At the time of auditions the teacher asked me” ooncha sur lagao”
    And I kept on raising my voice😁
    Obviously I was not selected
    DG dear you are a great motivator.
    Reading your post I thought I must restart my blog
    Thanks for your motivation.

    @Anju Gandhi,
    Welcome to GGTS, a safe space.
    Yes, please start blogging once again. Miss those days when we all were active on blogging scene.
    Let us bring those times back again.
    Peace,
    Desi Girl

    Like

  2. Julia July 14, 2016 at p07 #

    I don’t think I would have had the guts. I love to sing when I was younger but my mom and my brother always told me I didn’t have a nice voice, so I just stopped. Now my husband thinks I sing well because I defintely can keep a tune.

    I like the thought of you just belting out with no regards for how other’s took it and enjoying yourself.

    Like

    • girlsguidetosurvival July 14, 2016 at p07 #

      @Julia,

      Welcome back to GGTS, a safe space.
      I don’t think I was enjoying singing. It was just that I started it so I had to bring it to an end.
      Singing is the most natural thing I hear from folk wisdom yet not everyone can sing. Sing sing for your beloved and sing for your babies…
      Let us all sing a song of joy…
      Peace,
      Desi Girl

      Like

  3. Huzaifa Pandit July 5, 2016 at p07 #

    Good post DG🙂 after a long time, though. Good to see you back. It reminded me of a radio show I heard years back in which the RJ signed up to sing a Hindi song at a college festival, on the spur of the moment. But the song he chose was the immensely difficult: madhuban main radhika nachay re. Needless to say the audience wasn’t amused and he had to make a quick exit.

    Like

    • girlsguidetosurvival July 5, 2016 at p07 #

      @Huzaifa Pandit,
      Welcome back to GGTS, a safe space.
      Yes, indeed a longtime.
      DG was sure she won’t be the only one. “…many before more and many after me” will do this.
      At least he made a quick exit DG stood the ground.
      Your anecdote reminds DG how she ended up in this situation.
      An year before this she tried her hand at singing “Mand,” it is a classical genre of Marwari folk at the National Basic Leadership Camp in Santiniketan (WB). The Rajasthan contingent of 20 had no competent solo singer so DG had to step up to the occasion to prevent disqualification of the team. She did horrible job as usual but no one booed her out as NCC cadets are monitored for discipline and sportsmanship. That gave her this confidence to go and do what she did at the inter college competition.
      What was she thinking?
      Dunno
      Hailing from Marwar does not maketh a Mand singer.
      Peace,
      DG

      Like

  4. rizwanmoor June 26, 2016 at p06 #

    They played the Canadian anthem everyday in Elementary. I was the only kid, of the 28 in my class who would sing along. I was so bad, eventually my teacher told me to stop.

    I’ve barely sung since. But am now going to take lessons, as singing is part of the audition for acting school. I believe with practice, I will succeed.

    Your time will come. Music is inside all of us. You, me, dare I even say your seemingly non-musical father? It’s only a matter of practice, breathing, and having fun.

    @rizwanmoor,
    Welcome to GGTS, a safe space.
    Yes, we all have music in us, DG has little too much in her she just contains it coz’ she doesn’t want to be labelled people or music killer.
    Sometimes teachers have to make hard decisions.🙂 Even DG took lessons, the anglo friends in the Indian classical singing class passed and DG flunked. It was a blow to the professor’s ego, he claimed he could teach anyone singing.
    Good luck with your lessons.
    Please share this message of hope with anyone who may benefit.
    Peace,
    Desi Girl

    Like

  5. Bikramjit June 25, 2016 at p06 #

    Ha ha ha took me back to our class 10th farewell .. I did the same.. 😀😀

    How are you doing and good to see a post after a long time..

    2016 has been ok..

    Like

    • girlsguidetosurvival July 4, 2016 at p07 #

      @Bikramjit,
      Tell us, tell us what did you do?
      Oh the youth don’t we miss it?
      DG is very blessed. Yes, need to get back to writing. Somethings gotta change in 2016 and that is me.
      Thanks for checking on DG.
      Peace,
      DG

      Like

  6. psharmarao June 25, 2016 at p06 #

    Well DG one if the core strength of youth is its almost obscene confidence and treating yourself as a favour to the world,but as we grow we accept and respect our shortcomings and also treat the world with a little more reverence.

    Like

    • girlsguidetosurvival July 4, 2016 at p07 #

      @Psharmarao,

      Ah the obscene confidence… Guess it was that attitude of being a favor to the world kept DG safe from bad choices but at the same time foolish choices became her forte.
      You are so right “…as we grow we accept and respect our shortcomings and also treat the world with a little more reverence.” This realization that you are just another person has to come from within coz’ when others tell you it feels so bad.
      How are you?
      Peace,
      Desi Girl

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

From the wet market

Mostly vegetarian meals from Asia

****आयुर्वेद : आयुष**** ई०टी०जी० आयुर्वेदास्कैन ****AYURVEDA : E.T.G. AyurvedaScan **** ****आयुष आविष्कार**** ई० एच० जी० ****होम्योपैथीस्कैन **** E.H.G. Homoeopathy Scan

AYUSH means A.Y.U.S.H. य़ानी Ayurveda + Yoga & Nature Cure + Unani +Sidhdha + Homoeopathy ; आयुष पान्च चिकित्सा विधियो को मिलाकर एक टर्म बना दिया गया है , जिसका मतलब [१] A word से आयुर्वेद [२] Y word से योग और प्राकृतिक चिकित्सा [३] U word से यूनानी चिकित्सा [४] S word से सिध्ध चिकित्सा [५] H word से होम्योपैथी चिकित्सा ; आयुर्वेद के अलावा भारत में आविष्कार की गयी और भारत सरकार द्वारा परीक्षित की जा चुकी मान्यता प्राप्त विश्व की पहली और अकेली आयुर्वेद की शत-प्रतिशत पूर्णतया स्वदेशी तकनीक "इलेक्ट्रो त्रिदोष ग्राफी : ई०टी०जी० आयुर्वेदास्कैन " , जिसका आविष्कार जून, १९८६ में कानपुर शहर, उत्तर प्रदेश, भारत के आयुष चिकित्सा वैग्यानिक डा० देश बन्धु बाजपेयी - मोबाइल: 09336238994 - e.mail : drdbbajpai@gmail.com द्वारा किया गया और जिसका लगातार विकास कार्य जारी है / E.T.G.A.S. तकनीक द्वारा (1) आयुर्वेद के मौलिक सिध्धान्तों का स्टेटस क्वान्टीफाई करने और इसी तकनीक द्वारा (2) शरीर के सभी अन्गों और प्रत्यन्गॊ में व्याप्त समस्त रोगों के निदान ग्यान की वैग्यानिक aproach की जानकारी कराने और सबसे नवीन दूसरी आविष्कार की गयी निदान और रोग ग्यान तक्नीक आयुर्वेदा थर्मों ग्राफी ; आयुर्वेदा ऊष्मा-स्कैन ; आयुर्वेदा थेर्मल मैपिन्ग एवम स्कैनिन्ग के अलावा आयुर्वेद की अन्य की गयी खोजों में तीसरी खोज ”आयुर्वेद हीमो-मीटर मशीन” द्वारा रोगी के रक्त का परीक्षण करके आयुर्वेद के सिध्ध्न्तों का मूल्यान्कन तथा चौथी खोज रोगी के पेशाब / मूत्र का ”आयुर्वेद यूरीनो-मीटर” द्वारा परीक्षण करके आयुर्वेद के सिध्धान्तो की उपस्तिथि के अलावा मूत्र के अन्दर पाये जाने वाले पदार्थों का विष्लेषण करके रोग निदान की विधियों की खोज रिसर्च सेन्टर द्वारा कर ली गयी है और रोगियों के लिये उपलब्ध करा दी गयी है ...आयुष AYUSH चिकित्सा विधियों के बारे में विश्वसनीय और सटीक और अचूक और सही जानकारी और शोध पूर्ण और शोध युक्त ग्यान बोध कराने वाला द्विभाषीय चिठ्ठा ...................................Ayurveda and AYUSH Therapies including Chines Accupunctur, Magnet Therapy,Physiotherapy etc and with this in June, 1986, invented by KANPUR, Uttar Pradesh State, INDIA based AYUSH Medical Scientist Dr. Desh Bandhu Bajpai - Mobile : 09336238994 - e.mail: drdbbajpai@gmail.com , completely indeginous AYURVEDA SCANNING Technology - "Electro Tridosha Graphy ; E.T.G.AyurvedaScan " system, EXAMINED & APPROVED BY GOVERNMENT OF INDIA , by which (a) status of Ayurvedic Fundamentals are quantified and (b) examinaton of whole body for diagnosis of presence of anomalies and ailments , Second scanning system of Ayurveda Discovered and Invented by Dr. D.B.Bajpai ; Ayurveda Thermal Mapping and Scanning , Other research in Ayurveda is Third one which analysis Blood by AYURVEDA HEAMO-METER devise and Fourth one is AYURVEDA URINO-METER for analysing the contents of urine and status quantification of Ayurveda Principles and is avalable for patient in our research center...... provides information about Research and Developments technology provider , authenticated subject material publisher, Bilingual Hindi and English informer Blog

LOKSANGHARSHA

जनसंघर्ष को समर्पित

Talking to the Wall

Posting about this and that :)

Surviving Traumatic Brain Injury

TBI - Survivors, Caregivers, Family, and Friends

The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

My life and everything that touches it....

kafilabackup.wordpress.com/

10 YEARS OF KAFILA - OUR COMMON JOURNEY

"कुरुक्षेत्र"

मेरे विचारो का

समाजवादी जनपरिषद

वैश्वीकरण विरोध हेतु

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

W.S.S.A @ UWindsor

Women's Studies Student Association @ University of Windsor, Ontario

Shafiq Ur Rahman Khan

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

Beyond The Second Sex (स्त्रीविमर्श)

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

नारी , NAARI

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

Sparsh

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

Zerqa Abid

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

