A New Fatwa: Does it Matter?

11 May

A New Fatwa: Does it Matter?

The ringing phone woke me up. I am not a morning person, though I want to be one because it would help with my sadhana. It is not my thing. I did not want to get out of the bed but the phone would not stop ringing (I keep phone and alarm clock on the other side of the room just a technique to help me from sinking back into the bed). I picked the phone; it was Begum, my Pakistani friend. I mumbled “Ah, Begum so early whatz up?” Begum was pretty charged up. She was up in arms, “Did you see that on the ndtv, did you see it.” I was still sleepy and Begum was literally screaming in my ears. She asked me to turn on my computer and take a look at the email she sent me. I wanted little time but she was on my way or high way. I abided by what she said.

Her email read “watch this and write something.” I am one lazy dog who refuses to write about current topics because I know many bloggers will do that every morning so why do I need to reinvent the wheel. Rather I prefer writing comments on other people’s posts. Here Begum was on my case. She was calling me 11,000 miles away at an uncomfortable time to tell me what she thinks about this new fatwa on working women. Her voice was tense and high pitched all charged up. Here is what she said:

“Ask this attention seeking juvenile who is going to pay my rent and bills. Is he going to send me a check to cover my daughter’s school fee because her father washed off his hands after returning my mehar (dower)? Is he going to make sure my old parents are taken care off when I work in a sweat shop because it is one place where only women work and have no interaction with unrelated men. He doesn’t have to work his rent money comes from the zakat (tithe) other people make. How much is he willing to send me? Where should I send my budget? Begum’s voice was rising and I was now almost awake. She continued, “He is talking about the divine career or carrier like the cycle carrier, on the day of judgment why doesn’t he say anything about my present. Yeh, kill my present career to make my divine career, good advice.” “Why is he concerned about my journey on the pul-e-siraat I’ll manage it on my own, I make an honest living and I am raising my daughter all by myself. Does he have anything to say to the father of my child? Why can’t he mind his own business, attention seeker?

 I had to say something before her voice rose even higher. I said, “Begum, this guy is in India and you are in Pakistan on vacation why are you so charged up and what is this with attention seeking thing?” I was amused at her explanation, “Your Khaps have seized all the attention in the last month and there is nothing for this guy to do these days. In order to feel he exists and to make others known that he is still alive he has to make such absurd comments every now and then. Do you think we educated women are going to follow what he says? Be assured we are not, he is just barking at the wrong tree. Will your Sania Mirza stop playing or Shabana Azmi quit acting. But he is definitely making it hard for the poor uneducated masses especially women and pushing them into cycle of poverty generation after generation. I asked again, “He is in India how does it bother you?” Her response was, “As a sensible person it bothers me. It encourages other guys in the third world to come up with such absurd ideas and make women’s already hard lives harder.”

 Begum was equally mad at the moderates and liberals. She said the moderates were buying peace from such fundamentalist at any cost forgetting peace at any cost is no peace where as, liberals are hiding because they are scared to face the fundamentalists. She had few other personal and not so personal things to vent out and I am all ears. Isn’t that what friends are for. I have eliminated all the expletives from this talk. I love her Urdu spiced with Punjabi and before saying Allah Hafiz I asked her to narrate Ustad Daman’s my favorite couplet:

Anna mare anni noo, ghasun pain dhammi noo,


A blindman in his bid to hit the blind woman hits a pillar but is thinking he is hitting the blindwoman.

 Keep bribing and corrupting the system as much you can, keep biting on what ever you can but still keep screaming it is evil system.

Jinni jinni paindi ay oni oni paayi jao, whichon wich khayee jao, utton utton rola payi jao.

Do what ever works as always thus continue your old ways (contribute to towards the corruption of the system ) but keep crying wolf (keep complaining like always).  This was the best interpretation I could provide.

8 Responses to “A New Fatwa: Does it Matter?”

  1. Benita Ly May 31, 2010 at p05 #

    Really great post. Truely.

    Like

  2. Neva Devine May 26, 2010 at p05 #

    If I had a nickel for every time I came here! Incredible post.

    Like

  3. Ashwini May 13, 2010 at p05 #

    Very thought provoking!

    Like

  4. Bikram May 12, 2010 at p05 #

    looking at the blog title.. i hope guys are allowed to comment🙂

    Fatwas are just a way of seeking attention.. have there been any fatwas shot out .. for the GOOD OF HUMAN BEING .. in the recent past or for decades.. Its all about Which group gets the most media output by issueing a fatwa..

    I am a Sikh and we also had a few of these fatwas issued and then take aback.. all this sham has put a doubt over all these so called religious or group leaders …

    I guess i have gone on a tangent here sorry…

    Nice article though..
    loved the couplet ANNA Maare Anni noo.. ha ha haa nice one …

    so jado kade koi fatwa ave.. i usually ignore it cause any which are not for good of humans can never be goood END OF …
    🙂

    Like

    • girlsguidetosurvival May 12, 2010 at p05 #

      Bikram welcome to GGTS, a safe space.

      The blog title may indicate it is about women dominated issues but all issues are women’s issues. If men are hurting for what ever reason it impacts women as mothers, daughters, sisters, spouses or as fellow human beings. Men are most welcome to make comments and even write guest posts.

      I am responding to your all three comments here:

      WOWOW where were you 3 months ago

      GGTS was here. Its been in the blog world since mid Oct 2009. Only recently a reader helped me register at blogadda and indibloger.

      … hmmmmmmmmmm you forgot one REVENGE…
      it should be allowed … shud it not🙂

      I mentioned the issue of revenge in the Process of Grieving as anger directed at the object of affection. Thinking about and executing revenge is really problematic. It shows how helpless the person is over the other person and how desperately they want to control the other. It is true but a sad part of a break up when people cannot take no for an answer and want to control things they cannot by destroying them.

      I am sorry for what ever hurt you that you thought of ending your life at one time but I am glad it is over and you are here. You very rightly said …why kill oneself.. when you can go and kill the cause …

      The better answer is in the serenity prayer:

      GOD, grant me the serenity

      to accept the things
      I cannot change,
      Courage to change the

      things I can, and the
      wisdom to know the difference.

      Please keep coming back,

      Peace,

      Desi Girl

      Like

      • Bikram May 13, 2010 at p05 #

        Thanks for the lovely reply .. Do visit mine too as and when you are free and the words of wisdom .. Thanks

        Like

  5. Sagar May 12, 2010 at p05 #

    Rightly pointed out , just an fake attempt to seek attentions for them but will definitely worsen the situation if other fundamentalists start favoring them

    Like

    • girlsguidetosurvival May 12, 2010 at p05 #

      Sagar,

      Welcome to GGTS, a safe space.

      You are right the problem is aggrevated when fundamentalist minds start favoring or supporting such fatwas. For this reason it is important for moderates and liberals to voice their discontent. Sitting silent is like endorsing what such dictates are saying.

      Please keep coming back,

      Peace,

      Desi Girl

      Like

Leave a Reply

From the wet market

Mostly vegetarian meals from Asia

****आयुर्वेद : आयुष**** ई०टी०जी० आयुर्वेदास्कैन ****AYURVEDA : E.T.G. AyurvedaScan **** ****आयुष आविष्कार**** ई० एच० जी० ****होम्योपैथीस्कैन **** E.H.G. Homoeopathy Scan

AYUSH means A.Y.U.S.H. य़ानी Ayurveda + Yoga & Nature Cure + Unani +Sidhdha + Homoeopathy ; आयुष पान्च चिकित्सा विधियो को मिलाकर एक टर्म बना दिया गया है , जिसका मतलब [१] A word से आयुर्वेद [२] Y word से योग और प्राकृतिक चिकित्सा [३] U word से यूनानी चिकित्सा [४] S word से सिध्ध चिकित्सा [५] H word से होम्योपैथी चिकित्सा ; आयुर्वेद के अलावा भारत में आविष्कार की गयी और भारत सरकार द्वारा परीक्षित की जा चुकी मान्यता प्राप्त विश्व की पहली और अकेली आयुर्वेद की शत-प्रतिशत पूर्णतया स्वदेशी तकनीक "इलेक्ट्रो त्रिदोष ग्राफी : ई०टी०जी० आयुर्वेदास्कैन " , जिसका आविष्कार जून, १९८६ में कानपुर शहर, उत्तर प्रदेश, भारत के आयुष चिकित्सा वैग्यानिक डा० देश बन्धु बाजपेयी - मोबाइल: 09336238994 - e.mail : drdbbajpai@gmail.com द्वारा किया गया और जिसका लगातार विकास कार्य जारी है / E.T.G.A.S. तकनीक द्वारा (1) आयुर्वेद के मौलिक सिध्धान्तों का स्टेटस क्वान्टीफाई करने और इसी तकनीक द्वारा (2) शरीर के सभी अन्गों और प्रत्यन्गॊ में व्याप्त समस्त रोगों के निदान ग्यान की वैग्यानिक aproach की जानकारी कराने और सबसे नवीन दूसरी आविष्कार की गयी निदान और रोग ग्यान तक्नीक आयुर्वेदा थर्मों ग्राफी ; आयुर्वेदा ऊष्मा-स्कैन ; आयुर्वेदा थेर्मल मैपिन्ग एवम स्कैनिन्ग के अलावा आयुर्वेद की अन्य की गयी खोजों में तीसरी खोज ”आयुर्वेद हीमो-मीटर मशीन” द्वारा रोगी के रक्त का परीक्षण करके आयुर्वेद के सिध्ध्न्तों का मूल्यान्कन तथा चौथी खोज रोगी के पेशाब / मूत्र का ”आयुर्वेद यूरीनो-मीटर” द्वारा परीक्षण करके आयुर्वेद के सिध्धान्तो की उपस्तिथि के अलावा मूत्र के अन्दर पाये जाने वाले पदार्थों का विष्लेषण करके रोग निदान की विधियों की खोज रिसर्च सेन्टर द्वारा कर ली गयी है और रोगियों के लिये उपलब्ध करा दी गयी है ...आयुष AYUSH चिकित्सा विधियों के बारे में विश्वसनीय और सटीक और अचूक और सही जानकारी और शोध पूर्ण और शोध युक्त ग्यान बोध कराने वाला द्विभाषीय चिठ्ठा ...................................Ayurveda and AYUSH Therapies including Chines Accupunctur, Magnet Therapy,Physiotherapy etc and with this in June, 1986, invented by KANPUR, Uttar Pradesh State, INDIA based AYUSH Medical Scientist Dr. Desh Bandhu Bajpai - Mobile : 09336238994 - e.mail: drdbbajpai@gmail.com , completely indeginous AYURVEDA SCANNING Technology - "Electro Tridosha Graphy ; E.T.G.AyurvedaScan " system, EXAMINED & APPROVED BY GOVERNMENT OF INDIA , by which (a) status of Ayurvedic Fundamentals are quantified and (b) examinaton of whole body for diagnosis of presence of anomalies and ailments , Second scanning system of Ayurveda Discovered and Invented by Dr. D.B.Bajpai ; Ayurveda Thermal Mapping and Scanning , Other research in Ayurveda is Third one which analysis Blood by AYURVEDA HEAMO-METER devise and Fourth one is AYURVEDA URINO-METER for analysing the contents of urine and status quantification of Ayurveda Principles and is avalable for patient in our research center...... provides information about Research and Developments technology provider , authenticated subject material publisher, Bilingual Hindi and English informer Blog

LOKSANGHARSHA

जनसंघर्ष को समर्पित

Talking to the Wall

Posting about this and that :)

Surviving Traumatic Brain Injury

TBI - Survivors, Caregivers, Family, and Friends

The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

My life and everything that touches it....

kafilabackup.wordpress.com/

10 YEARS OF KAFILA - OUR COMMON JOURNEY

"कुरुक्षेत्र"

मेरे विचारो का

समाजवादी जनपरिषद

वैश्वीकरण विरोध हेतु

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

W.S.S.A @ UWindsor

Women's Studies Student Association @ University of Windsor, Ontario

Shafiq Ur Rahman Khan

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

Beyond The Second Sex (स्त्रीविमर्श)

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

नारी , NAARI

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

Sparsh

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

Zerqa Abid

Own your relationships. Don't let them own you.

